Thursday Kuniko had a chance to sleep in a little bit – she just had to work the second half of the day. I had to go take my driving test in Akashi, so I gathered up all the paperwork I needed and headed out.
In Akashi I took the bus to get to the license center, and then checked in at the counter at around 9:45. I followed the procedures they outlines, checking in at a different window, and then watching a video with the rest of the people scheduled that day. I talked with a few other foreigners that were there from various countries, and they all said that it was a really tough test. One lady was there for the fourth time, another guy I talked to said it was his fifth time.
Finally about an hour before the test they let us walk the course. They course is a closed course on city property. There are fake railroad crossings, hills, and really tricky turning areas. The foreigners all have the same route through the course (course 18) and it seemed like it was an easy course to me. There was no railroad crossing, no hills, and no parallel parking.
I walked the course twice, and then went inside and we gathered for an explanation. The guy was very strict, and told us all (in Japanese) that it takes a long time to memorize and complete the course correctly, so we should relax and be patient. I was second in line for the driving test, so I got in back of a car and the number one in line guy got in the driver’s seat. The proctor sat in the passenger seat, and was the typical “very serious Japanese old guy”. He even wore a police uniform that made everything seem scarier.
The driver in my car was unable to start the car (because he didn’t have the clutch in), he didn’t look over his shoulder on left turns (big no-no) and he drove through a turning lane and went straight instead. It didn’t look good for him. We got back to the start, and they had me get out of the car so the proctor could explain the results. The guy was in there a long time. He got out shaking his head and looking mad, and then it was my turn.
It was no picnic. I started off by hitting the wipers instead of the blinker on the first turn. I made all the right turns though, and had problems with looking over my shoulder. There is a particular order you have do everything – from adjusting your seat at the beginning to looking at your mirrors at each intersection. That is a lot to keep track of, and coupled with all the stress no wonder people fail so much.
After a five minute drive we got back to the start, and I parked the car. The guy said (in Japanese) that I had done well. He said that I need to drive closer to the left side of the road – motorcycles and bicycles might sneak into that gap creating a dangerous situation. He told me to keep that in mind when I try next time. Then he wrote fail on my sheet and sent me out of the car. Ouch.
Apparently they are looking for a perfect score. I wasn’t mad but I think I was shaking my head as I walked back in. The next available appointment was in the middle of April, but since I will be working then I couldn’t schedule a next time right then.
I’m not sure why the driving test is so strict. It doesn’t reflect on the reality of driving in the real world. Shouldn’t it prepare drivers for the driving environment of Japan? Some parts, like the close-quarters turns and the cones in the road are good preparation, but most things seem like it’s just a way to keep too many people from driving.
I gathered up my stuff and headed out the door to catch the bus back. It was about 2 p.m. I had to wait a long time for the bus, and as I did I saw the other foreigners coming out of the building, each one shaking their heads or frowning. It wasn’t a good day for foreigners at the license center.
The bus ride back to Akashi was about 10 minutes, and then I took the train home from there. Kuniko got home late and we had some healthy dinner (rice and miso soup that Kuniko made). I watched a little TV with Kuniko but ended up going to bed early. I was tired from all that stress.